Invisible until stigmatized brings forth society’s gaze

Chronic Pain – The war on narcotics / abuse – stigma go hand in hand

See the below article.

Post (1 of 2)


Which I take pause with in part re: psychologically related in all cases and also take pause as with a comment made in the APA (american pain society) [see next post]


Because of the futility of explaining chronic pain both due to language and to minds, almost without exception*  I ceased to speak of my chronic pain.

Despite societies adapting – 1000+ words for snow to ennuis or waves/ water to native Hawaiians – so pain should now have grown in the number and specificity of meaning.

Stigma follows ignorance. I suffer daily from sensations which hurt me, move, change, vary in severity. Sometimes I suffer invisibly and sometimes I cannot hide it. Yet discriminated or stigmatized at least once as everyone w chronic pain has suffered. So much suffering and unwillingness, apathy, closed minds, power, and lack of understanding/misunderstanding are walls in the way of equality and freedom and rights to x and y.

Monthly at the pharmacy I leave angry and admittedly ashamed for being a drug user in the eyes of 1+ pharmacy member. Upon seeing this Rx for “that” drug, I immediately feel or see the gaze on me. Some sly but usually a point to be made or said – 50/50 indirectly and directly. Shamed status of drug abuser. As if I or any want pain to get street drugs w a script.

This feel like a hurdle in the way of even an open discussion on pain, as society so melts these two together- pain + abuse + drugs/narcotics.No matter which pharmacy, I am looked at by some pharmacy staff who looks or maybe says and I certainly feel culturally or medically.


I try to express to those who ask and care. I am also not singular but a pool of people increasingly considered overlapping if not concentric by many (mds included) – 1) chronic pain sufferer & 2) narcotics user and abuser.

I hate nothing save two things and one is this tragedy and what it represents about this culture. It sucks. Really. But, I do believe I would have give up or given in to the pain I so vividly remember. These meds I, too, struggle taking save my QOL and allow me these last 8 years which – while hard, are filled with love and joy and I cannot imagine anything else. I don’t want to.

Stigmatization sucks. Awareness breeds acceptance breeds willingness to be open and learn. I try to do this to keep me in check, if it helps. Thanks for reading


*Exceptions = doctor appointments and pharmacies. I finally refused or am balking the 0-10 scale. I try to say I refuse to answer which is accepted with a scared gaze at me along with it or kicked back at me as if I simply cannot proceed past the nurse to the doctor until a number is given. So, I say I’m in a good amount of pain and my answer is 0. You pick. I hate that I’m this jaded now.

Attempts to challenge the stigma of chronic pain often fail. Despite arguments from experts and patients alike, stigma remains a persistent problem. Why?
INSTITUTEFORCHRONICPAIN.ORG

2 thoughts on “Invisible until stigmatized brings forth society’s gaze

Responses to what you read? Let's make this a discussion.